Belated Thanksgiving

I have been without a reliable internet connection for nearly two weeks so I am just now getting around to posting my best wishes for a Happy Thanksgiving.  Living in China, I see less-fortunate souls everyday.  It is one of the things I am thankful for this holiday season.  Being exposed to the harshness of life that some folks here endure (often with a smile), it helps me to appreciate all that I have.  Yeah, my biggest problem currently is slow internet.  It hardly compares with some of the folks here.

"Better a bare foot...

Shenzhen

Suspicion

Hong Kong

Invisible  III - The Main Course

Liuzhou

Sleep At The Wall

Shatang Town

The Face Of China IV - Friends Down And Dirty

Liuzhou

Smile For The Camera

Liuzhou

Jishou Train Station

Jishou

Schoolyard - Peek-A-Boo

Shatang Town

This is a small collection of some of my China photos.  It is by no means meant to be an indictment of the social condition here, in fact, similar photos could be taken anywhere in the world.  If you would like to read the story behind a particular photo just click on the image.

To my children Natalie and Nick, a world away.  I am thankful for you, no father is more proud of his kids than I am of you two.  You are scholars, athletes and most importantly, kind and compassionate citizens of the world.  For my family and friends scattered across the globe, I appreciate all you have done for me over the years.  I am indebted to each of you and I fear I will never be able to balance the scale.

As a teacher, I have an opportunity to make a small difference here and I am thankful for that.  I am thankful for my students, who keep me young and make me laugh.  I am thankful for my health, at times failing but it appears I am a bit like an old battered and scarred Timex, still ticking after the licking.

I am currently in the planning stages of starting a program to help less fortunate children in the rural area near my college.  You will have the opportunity to help as well and I’ll be posting more here soon.

As a tongue-n-cheek aside, I am thankful that UK found a way to beat the basketball powerhouses of Delaware State, Longwood and Lamar.  The wins over Kansas State and West Virginia were also nice!  Go Big Blue!

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on December 4, 2008.

2 Responses to “Belated Thanksgiving”

  1. Happy belated Thanksgiving. Looking forward to hearing about your program. Good luck..

  2. Obviously you know that I come here often! Your photography is absolutely stunning…which keeps bringing me back!

Leave a Reply

 
