Walking the Dog

I do feel for those of you stuck in the cold and snow and ice somewhere.  I really want to rub it in I really don’t want to rub it in but it was another stellar day weather-wise here, topping out in the low 70’s.  Chewy got to go out for a long walk around the neighborhood.  I took along the camera and  a few lenses and I even remembered the tripod for a change.

This dog loves kids.  Well, this dog loves everybody, but especially kids.  Here, she is watching some kids on the playground.  She really wants to join the fun but I am making her stay with me.  Many folks here are afraid of dogs and very leery about dogs around their children.  She doesn’t know the meaning of stranger, having never met one, so we always keep her on a leash.  Tomorrow, she’s going to meet three little American boys.  I suspect she’ll OD on juvenile testosterone giggling.

Chewy Walk

Want to Play?

We found some flowers on the common grounds of the complex where  we live.  I used the 100 f2.8 macro lens, the tripod and timer to get this one.  I am trying to get out of my photography comfort zone.  I hardly ever use this macro lens or my 17 – 40 f4 L so I am forcing myself to put them on the camera during my break.  I am not completely happy with this shot but it’s an improvement over previous efforts.  Anybody know what this flower is?

Chewy Walk - Flower

Not A Clue

This is from last night, again right here in the neighborhood.  It sometimes surprises folks outside of China but KFC is huge here.  In fact, The Colonel outpaces the Golden Arches by more than double on the mainland and is the largest fast-food operation in the country.

Illuminated Bucket

Illuminating The Bucket

The Chinese government recently released data showing that China’s GDP growth fell to 6.8% in the fourth quarter of 2008.  Given that double-digit growth has become the norm that’s a huge drop.  The government spin doctors experts will argue that possessing an economy that grew at all, let alone by nearly 7 per cent, should be “mei wenti” (no problem).  The truth is that in a country of 1.3 billion, tens of millions enter the workforce each year, many migrating from the impoverished countryside to cities on the eastern and southern seaboard.  Providing that mass of humanity jobs and food and housing means that China must run simply to stand still.  Some experts are saying that, in effect, a growth rate of 6.8 per cent leaves China perilously close to outright recession.

Even the Colonel is not immune.  Fourth-quarter same-store sales in China were up just 1 percent compared with the previous year’s growth of 17 percent.  As a friend of mine recently wrote, “OMG we had better buy more KFC…”.  Reminds me of the Chik-Fil-A “Eat More Chikin” campaign, which I always found mildly amusing.  Something tells me Harland Sanders and company will be OK in the end.

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on February 7, 2009.

11 Responses to “Walking the Dog”

  1. As usual, lovely pics…to answer your question, no, don’t know what kind of flower that is!
    Here in JP, it’s not the Colonel, but Micky D’s whose sales were up in this recession! They’ve gone to coupons and to freebie toys with the Happy Meals, so it keeps the kids coming… KFC has gone to coupons here as well. I guess the family dinner out recently means fast food, even here in JP.

  2. How could The Colonel not be okay? In a major city there’s an outlet on every corner.

    Great shots.

    • Maybe not every corner Steve, but yeah, I could throw a rock to two of them from my roof. I just read they have cut their China pricing and Micky D’s cut theirs 30 percent in the past week!

  3. Is it my bad memory, or is rice now more expensive?

    • We were just talking about that last night, I don’t know about down there in SZ but here it (rice) is definitely more than it was two years ago as is beef and pork, most everything. I guess that’s the norm all over these days. My salary however, remains the same. Still, like The Colonel, I think I’ll be okay. I actually need to lose some weight but with McDonald’s lowering the price of an extra value meal by 33%, I am doomed. Temptation, Ronald McDonald is thy name.

  4. The flower looks like a hibiscus or what we call “gumamela.” But of course I’m not a botanist. 😛

    Chewy is so pretty! So well-behaved in front of the camera!

  5. Hi Michael. Your photos are incredible! A real feast for the senses.
    My name is Lindsey – I live in the UK at present. Next month my partner Keith and I are coming to live in Liuzhou for seven months. I would really appreciate any tips you could give us about living out there (if you have the time to spare). With many thanks, Lindsey.

  6. Hey, EG: I haven’t seen that 30% price drop yet. Crossing my fingers

  7. Chewy is adorable. I can’t believe I missed this post!

Leave a Reply

 
