Missing In Action

Yes, I have been MIA for a while now.  Some unexpected health issues got in the way of “life”.   I am at that age where things can go to hell-in-a-handbasket if you don’t stay on top of them.  Fortunately, I appear to be on the mend.  Certainly the long-term prognosis is good.  I’ll know more about it all in the next few days.  My Chinese hospital experience was once again both tragic and hilarious.  I might write about it all at some point.  I am by now a grizzled veteran of the Chinese hospital system, it may actually make for an interesting read.  That being said, I haven’t been allowed to go out shooting for about three weeks and I am having big-time withdrawal!  I did manage to take a few floral shots in the house one afternoon last week.  The macro thing is not my forte’ but I am getting better with practice.  Macro photography can be kinda’ fun, both shooting and processing.  I dunno what these little purple jobs are but they are much smaller than they look here, each flower is about the size of a quarter.  Fresh flowers, both cut and potted are ridiculously cheap here in Liuzhou so I often have plants at home.  I dunno’ why I haven’t practiced more than I have.  It’s  a good thing they are cheap because I usually manage to kill off the potted plants in short order.  The Yellow Barrel Cactus may actually make it.

Purple

Purple Whatchacallits

Yellow

Yellow Chrysanthemum

White

Golden Barrel Cactus

So, it is nice to be home.  I’ll return to work on Wednesday, have some more tests Friday and go from there.  I hope to get my interview with photographer Mark Hobbs edited and posted here in the next day or so.  Sorry that’s taken so long but hey, even at 51 I am  still learning that here is really only so much I am actually in control of!

March Madness is upon us, well, upon many of you back home anyway.  I can’t watch the games here but even if I could, I am just not much into the tournament now that UK  is officially out of it (for the first time in 17 years).   The 2008-2009 edition of  University of Kentucky basketball is on life support.  The Cats will meet Lon Kruger’s UNLV squad in the first round of the NI freakin’ T, as a number 4 seed.  A number 4 seed in the NIT.  THAT, was difficult to type. I still haved a “wait and see” attitude about Billy Clyde Gillispie.  The coach won’t be fired this off-season, nor should he be.  Still, I find myself wondering if he is the right guy for the job.  I hope he can prove me (and countless others) wrong.  A good showing in the NIT would be a step in the right direction.  In the meantime, Billy and I are still legally separated.

Thanks to everyone who sent a note to check in on me. I’ll try and get caught up with each of you this week.

Peace!

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on March 17, 2009.

19 Responses to “Missing In Action”

  1. Glad to see you back on, was wondering what was going on with you.
    Hope you are ok now and feeling better.
    Take care,

    Petra

  2. WoW. These shots are so brilliant. Colours are so amazing. Sorry that I couldnt keep up with you but hopefully from here on…
    Amazing photos..AWESOME.

  3. How can I get shots this close?

  4. Grizzled veteran…ooohhh…interesting! Why, what happened to you?

  5. Well, Michael, it seems we have more in common than a love of photography. I’m a little older than you (6 years) and had some sudden medical issues come up last fall. As is typical for me, I underplayed it at first, but my docs didn’t let me do so for long… told me that if I didn’t get serious, I had 10 years tops, and would probably end up wishing I didn’t live that long. So, against my nature, I took it seriously and followed my treatment regiment faithfully. Not out of the woods yet, but feeling great (I didn’t realize how bad I felt). I hope you’ll take this seriously; at our age there isn’t a big margin for error, and the penalty for failure is pretty high.

    By the way, sorry about your Wildcats, but you can watch the NCAA tourney live online for free (given a fast enough connection). Here’s the link: http://www.ncaa.com/sports/m-baskbl/ncaa-m-baskbl-body.html

    Finally, this Macro work is amazing.. Great stuff… looking forward to more.

  6. Michael,
    Some of those hospitals in China are scary — been there and done that! Being sick in a foreign country is terrible. I wish you a speedy recovery.

    As far as your excursions into photography around the house go, I think you can declare it a success. It’s amazing what you can find in your own ‘backyard’.

  7. Hey Michael:

    I had a medical scare two years back and have had my share (scare) of Chinese hospitals. I finally took a trip to HK and an English-speaking GP to set things right. I hope all is getting better.

    Great shots! I’ve been playing with macro, def. not my thing. I can’t get the DOF right. More play, I guess.

  8. Hi Micheal, I’m using a Nikon D90. with 18-105mm.
    http://wollreflections.wordpress.com/
    You can go through my blog and get a better idea about my work. Tell me more about macro please!
    Nivin.

    • Nivin, thanks for taking the time to visit again. I’ll send you an email first chance I get and tell you everything I know about macro photography. Since I don’t know that much it will be ashort email!

  9. Hi Michael
    Don’t see my earlier epistle so just saying Hi, keep safe…

  10. The only sports reporting I ever care to read is on your blog. Beautiful macros – a new side of Micheal. There is always the self-portrait to explore….. : ))
    Big hug, as long as it doesn’t hurt.

    • Nobody, I repeat NOBODY, needs to see my self portraits Elaine. Oh, and I am not sure what you are talking about because the little purple icon’s legs are dead-on.

  11. And what’s with the funny little purple icon?? Sure doesn’t look like me!
    : P

Leave a Reply

 
