Reflections From The Heart

You may have noticed that over the past few weeks I have not been around much.  I’ve been trying to figure out the best way to write about why that is but finding the right words has proven difficult for me.  I still haven’t found the right words but so many people have been kind enough to inquire I feel it is appropriate to write something.  At any rate, here it is.  A few weeks ago I had what is being called a “mild” heart attack.  The long-term prognosis is good, albeit complicated by a pre-existing kidney condition.  It certainly could have been much worse and I am thankful for the wake-up call.  In light of recent events I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting.  I am certain that’s normal, good even.  In fact, for me, the process has been sublimely cathartic.

Liuzhou Reflected - Redux

Reflections

I’ve had my share of health issues that last few years, I am getting to that age.  I’ve learned to take care as to how those said “issues” are presented.  It’s my observation (opinion) that people tend to treat you differently if they think you are sick or suffering.  That’s normal of course, often we don’t know what to do and reactions run the gamut.  It seems most folks settle in at one of the extremes, either smothering you with care and concern or leaving you to deal with everything alone.  Personally, I find it difficult when family and friends feel obligated to make “plans” to “take care of me”.  The hovering, it drives me nuts.  Conversely, I am disappointed if someone doesn’t “react” at all.  It is why I have struggled to write about it.  I’ve been asking myself, “What is my motivation for telling anyone anything?”

In the end, I’ve decided I have no hidden agenda with this post.  It’s just an update to clear up some more cryptic recent entries.

As I said, it’s actually been good for me.  I am moving forward with new purpose and a more definitive idea as to what I want to do “now” and “next”.  With all the introspection I realize I have not been focused or organized.  It’s easy, at least for me, to become too comfortable with the status quo here in China.  I still want need to do so much more.  There is so much more for me to improve on, so much to give, so many ways to impact (hopefully positively) the lives of others.  I am happy to have the opportunity to do something positive today.

Here’s to much more…

~ by Expatriate Games on March 31, 2009.

22 Responses to “Reflections From The Heart”

  1. Wow-make sure to take care of yourself! Another beautiful shot. You accomplished a lot with just black and reflection-cool!

  2. You got my email on the health stuff…

    You hit on the perfect capture for this post…

    Feel good and kick ass…

    R(etc… )

  3. Thanks for the update. Do take care of yourself! This time it was just a warning… but you lived to tell about it.
    I have been worried about you lately, but I’m glad you came out and told us. Take it easy, but do come back to us with your posts!

    • I think I am back for the most part. I do need to get caught up on some projects and I have to get out soon with the camera before I go crazy. I am developing/improving my web presence as well so a lot of irons in the fire (as always). Where are you these days? US? Japan? New job yet? I need to get over to see you…

  4. When the body speaks, it’s a good idea to listen. Being of a certain age myself, I know that those health issues can give a lot of pause for thought and reorganization of one’s life.

    Take care of you.

    Amazing capture. The reflection is just… amazing.

  5. Take care. Glad to hear you’re on the mend.

  6. The answer is simple: You must eat more Chinese food.

    Stay fit, rock the shutter release.

  7. Cool!

    Anyway, where are you situated right now?

  8. Hey EG not good news but glad it wasn’t worse… look after yourself mate.

  9. Take care of yourself Michael, you still have a lot to want, to do, to love, to enjoy, to photograph.

  10. I am certain your health has improved with the bball coaching change at KY. Hang in there.

  11. Great, great photo, been a fan of yours on flickr and now to your blog. Take good good care of yourself, just rest and relax. I’ll definitely be back for more

  12. Regarding “so much to give, so many ways to impact (hopefully positively) the lives of others”:
    It comes through in your photos and in your comments. You have that effect all over the world, through your blog and through Flickr. I feel like I’m one of the lucky recipients. You’ve made my day better so many times, Michael, thank you.
    (from the one with the chubby purple bod & the green legs!)

    • Thanks Elaine, you can always make me smile.

      (from the one with the chubby purple bod & the green legs!)

      I am just gonna’ make one small correction… (from the one with the chubby purple bod & the sexy, really hot, shapely, great green legs!)

Leave a Reply

 
