China – More Than One Great Wall

If you’re a photographer, China has a lot of “Great Walls”!  Here’s a small collection…

A Green Wall In Nanning

Nanning

Luzhai County

Luzhai

China Red

Liuzhou

Girl At The Wall

Liuzhou

Rule - 規

Rongshui

Yellow

Liuzhou

Behind The Red Curtain - Luzhai

Luzhai

Colorful Text Message

Liuzhou

Korean Government In Exile  - Widow Sill

Liuzhou

China Plaster Blister

Liuzhou

Many of these walls are gone now, razed in the name of progress.  I shot walls a lot during my first few months in China but somehow got away from it.  It may be time to for me to once again read the writing on the wall.

Gearing up for the weekend here, it’s hot and muggy already.  I’ll be shooting, editing and writing most of the next four days.  I love my gig.  I’ll get something else up soon with more of an update on life here in South China.

Peace!

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on May 15, 2009.

19 Responses to “China – More Than One Great Wall”

  1. Great shots! I love the fabulous colours and textures.

  2. These are awesome! The fusion of colours and varying textures each wall has is just great. I like the image where the woman in the pink top is on her phone, everything blends fabulously.

  3. They’re great Mike but how come no white ones? 😉

    R(etc… )

  4. Great take on China’s “wall”!

  5. Third one from the bottom has a nice bit of Joan Miro on it.

  6. Fantastic shots of great walls. 🙂

  7. IMPRESSIVE!!!!

  8. These are really beautiful pictures. I especially like the first one, and the two shots with the girls on the graffiti walls. You’ve got a nice post processing style. whats your normal work-flow?

  9. Super-cool walls, Michael. Alleys and walls are a fave of mine. I might have to post something similar.

    How about this heat? hehe.

    • I can’t tell if the “heat” remark was tongue-in-cheek or not! The weather here changed dramatically and it has been cool and rainy for four days! I imagine the annual flood is just around the corner.

      • Floods? I think ours are done. It should be blue (smoggy) skies and unbearable heat, broken by the occasional typhoon. I may have to start taking a change of clothes to school to I am not constantly wet.

  10. Awesome photos!
    What a great variety of colors, very nicely spotted and “collected” to a set.

  11. Delicious colours and textures 🙂

  12. When I arrived in China at the end of 2002, they were just starting to pull down the hutongs and shantytowns that lend so much character to the landscape. It’s nice to take a trip down memory lane with you, Michael.

  13. Wow Michael,

    The photos you taken on the kids are amazing… So cool…

    I started reading your blog today and i enjoy it very much. I have been living in Hong Kong for the past 5 years and have always been interested in China too.

    Anyway, I am currently working on building a social network website to connect China and the world. At the moment I am trying to gather more people on the platform so that I can create a niche community – of people wanting to connect to friends in China and vice versa.

    AS you currently live in China, I just thought it will be my honor if i can invite you to join us. Will you be kind enough to take a look at my beta site and i hope you do join us at the end. At the moment members can share videos and photos. Will be great if you can help share your photos too – I am sure our existing chinese members would love to get to know you too.

    The site URL is: http://www.ecpod.com

    Thanks in advance for your help.

    Rgds,

  14. Great pix! I like the details (textures) on every wall, they have different stories to tell but they can’t express – they’re just there waiting to be demolished… sad and unlucky walls coz’ they can’t see the modern China. 🙂

  15. Beautiful blog, beautiful pictures. Too bad you don’t post more often.

Leave a Reply

 
