Photo(s) of the Day – China Nights

I’ve been getting some email about low-light and night-time photography. It can be intimidating, but shooting at night is nothing to be afraid of. In fact, with today’s digital cameras, it can be quite easy if you know some of the basics. I’ve been thinking maybe I’ll post a quick tutorial here in the next few days. With a few tips I think you’ll be taking clear, crisp pictures in no time. Until I can get something put together, here’s a small collection from my portfolio.

Liuhou Park Main Gate

Liuhou Park Main Gate

Liuzhou Nights -  The Biker Boys

The Biker Boys

Bob Lio Bokeh

Bob Lio Bokeh

Biandan Blues

Biandan Blues

Liuzhou Nights - The Tea Shop

The Tea Shop

Illuminating The Bucket

Illuminating the Bucket

元宵節 - Lantern Festival VI

Lantern Festival VI

Chinese New Year's Eve - Guitar Solo

Guitar Solo

Girl At The Wall

Girl at the Wall

All The 茶 In China

All the Tea in China

As always, if you have a question about any of the photos, just leave a comment. I’m pretty good about getting back to you.

Tomorrow, I am taking 23 kids to McDonalds. They’ve been attending an English Winter Camp and this is my graduation present to them. The McDonalds staff is going to let them go into the kitchen where, apparently, they will show the kids how to make their own food. Yeah, let’s hope Ronald and the gang are ready for that. You might offer up a prayer for me as well. I’ll take along a camera.

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on February 26, 2010.

10 Responses to “Photo(s) of the Day – China Nights”

  1. As always your photos are beautiful. And I thank you for letting me live and breathe China through them. I definitely miss it. Please do share photos from your McDonald’s trip and yes, prayers are going up for you and the McDonald’s staff 🙂 I really hope that you will write up a tutorial to night-time photography. I have yet to give it a try, and now that I’ve got someone to go out with me at night I want to give it a try. Take care, my friend!

  2. Great set-what line of work is gal at wall in? cough cough
    Kids to McD’s aww what a nice teacher! Have McFun!

  3. Some truly beautiful images, my friend. Truly.

  4. I like the panning picture of the woman with baskets. Panning shots are always hard to get! Look forward to your long exposure night work!

  5. I think a good tripod is key and I love long exposures even though I don’t take enough advantage of it. You’ve really inspired me to troop out tonight and have a go at it! I look forward to reading your tutorial!

  6. These are lovely shots Michael. I’ll be back to check out your tutorial.

  7. Sigh, you make it sound so easy.
    Yours are always so colorful and crispy clear.

    Good luck on the McDonalds trip. Can’t wait to see the pictures on that one.

  8. You take nice photography.

  9. The Biker Boys – awesome! As always, love looking at your images and letting my imagination take me places. I hope your cable re-install comes through soon.

  10. I really like the “Biker Boys” photo!

Leave a Reply

 
