Lovin’ It- Liuzhou Style

Last week, Lily and I made a plan to take some kids to McDonalds. Said children were to attend an English Winter Camp this week and we thought a trip to see Ronald and the gang might be fun. When Lily dropped by to see about bringing a large group in, not only were they (McDonalds) open to idea, they said the kids come into the kitchen and make their own food. I thought she must have misunderstood them, so I asked her to check again, twice. Sure enough, the kids could go back in groups of 10, get a tour of the kitchen and then make their own burgers! Today was graduation day. 23 kids were initially scheduled to make the trip but in the end only 17 showed up. 17 was enough. They ranged in age from 5 to 16. Here’s a Mctaste…

Below, Tony (the only problem child of the day) and little Lily wait in line after donning their hazmat suits. It worried me a bit that the plastic bags the suits were packaged in had big warnings all over the bags NOT FLAME RETARDANT. As we went into the kitchen, I kept repeating the mantra from an long ago first aid class, “Drop and roll… drop and roll.” Oh, and the two size fits all suits… don’t. Just sayin’.

Liuzhou Mcdonalds I

Tony & Lily

This is Jerry, he wins the award for class clown. A sweet, clever kid but seriously lazy.

Liuzhou McDonalds II

Jerry

The kids were put onto an assembly line and I was happy to see there would be no hot oil involved for any of them. This is Michael, grabbing way to0 much lettuce for one burger.

Liuzhou McDonalds III

Michael

Canon (yes I gave him his English name) clowning around. I don’t think I got one photo of this kid today without him making some kind of weird face.

Liuzhou McDonalds IV
Canon

Canon and Jerry playing the traditional Chinese game “Smash Your Classmates Face In”. Canon won.

Liuzhou McDonalds V
Smash Face

The McDonalds staff was almost as excited as the kids were, perhaps to the point of neglecting other customers! I pretty much have my students broken of the peace sign flashing thing. I may need another session with these guys.

Liuzhou McDonalds VI

Lovin’ it – Liuzhou Style

Liuzhou McDonalds VII

The Precious

The kids, listening as Ms. Wei explains the finer points of toasting a bun. They listened well today, much better than in English class!

Liuzhou McDonalds

Toasting Buns

Group One on the line. Only one peace sign, a pretty good ratio. Jerry of course, I beat him later.

Liuzhou McDonalds

Group One

And finally, here’s Tony, reacting to being told to sit down for the 31st time.

Liuzhou McDonalds

Tony in Trouble

I can’t ever see this kind of thing happening back home, not in our litigation happy society. In the end, the kids had a great time. Me, I kept looking at all the deep friers and the grill, doing my best to keep myself between anything hot and the kids. We went to Liuhou park afterward on a beautiful summer day in Liuzhou. Yeah I know it’s winter but somebody over here didn’t get that message. The temps the last two days have been in the 90’s with summer-like humidity. A busy weekend ahead, I have a photo-shoot with a band tomorrow and the lantern festival is Sunday. Thanks for making your way here. Peace!

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on February 27, 2010.

8 Responses to “Lovin’ It- Liuzhou Style”

  1. That’s cool. I remember going on similar things in Australia when I was a kid. I wonder if kids today can still do it.

  2. What a fun day! Tony makes me smile– looks like a pretty spunky little guy. Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. Nice series, looks like it was a lot of fun. Wait for my classroom series – I let all my kids pass my camera around and take photos – 15 clsses! Not sure how smart that was…

  4. Nice, Michael. I do miss having hordes of children in my life.

    Canon is a great name. I’m thinking Leica for a girl.

  5. I give you an A+ for bravery 🙂 Some fantastic shots here, and no accidents, so a success all the way around!

Leave a Reply

 
