Hi Ho

Yeah… it’s off to work I go. I finally returned to campus this week after a 7 week break. To be fair, it’s not much like work, especially this term. I only teach two and a half days a week and it’s not like I’m pounding nails for a living. I’m not sure how much longer I’ll teach but for now, it’s still rewarding on more levels than it is frustrating, at least most days.

Poncho Me

Poncho Me

The weather in Liuzhou has been totally schizo, 32C/90F last week, 4C/39F yesterday morning. I took this shot from a taxi on the way to work yesterday. These little electric scooters are everywhere. You’ll see them in the city and the countryside, driven by folks who have no idea what they are doing as far as “driving” goes. I suppose it really doesn’t matter, since hardly anyone here obeys even the most rudimentary traffic laws, but the drivers of these electric bikes are perhaps the worst offenders. You can’t hear them coming and again, they are predominately driven by folks who’ve never had any kind of traffic training because you don’t need a license to operate one. My friend Ken calls them, “… silent killers”. I used to have one, I’ve had two actually. Both were stolen. I have learned to embrace the Liuzhou public transportation system. I’m toying with the idea of buying a car. I like the idea of the relative freedom I’ll have to travel with the camera but it is expensive to have a car here and 97% of the time I don’t really need one.

Speaking of Ken, go here to check out his latest blog post. It features some Chinglish that I think is the most bizarre I’ve seen in my three years in China. I actually was going to share a similar photo of the sign here on the blog but our friend Laura sent Ken the photo and they beat me to it! Warningthe photo contains obscenity that some may find offensive. If that sounds like you, you may want to steer clear. Taken in context, it’s bizarre, even for China. Kinda’ takes “grinding” coffee to a whole new level.

More from here over the weekend. Lesson plans are waiting. Peace!

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on March 10, 2010.

4 Responses to “Hi Ho”

  1. “My friend Ken calls them, “… silent killers”.”

    And that’s only when I am in good mood!

  2. Can you get a driver’s license as a foreigner?

    • Yeah you can Mark. The process is a bit different in every Province, even every city, but you c an get one. The bribe fee is variable as well. Here in Liuzhou I was able to have Lily go in with me to take the test, ostensibly to translate.

  3. That sign is too funny. Hmmm, come to think of it, I saw a few of those at the Oscars the other night. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
