So there was this motorcycle….

Yeah… so for those that hadn’t heard or otherwise might have been wondering where I’ve been, a while back I had an encounter with a motorcycle. I was walking home after a trip to the grocery and as I crossed the street near the complex where I live, a guy ran me over going about 50 KPH. He was trying to outrun an oncoming rain storm and later admitted he never saw me. I had a concussion, a bruised kidney, three broken ribs and some screws were torn loose from a previous knee surgery. Feel free to insert your “screws loose” jokes in the comments section.

Writing about the accident has, for some reason, been a challenge for me. I wanted to write about it, hoping that it might somehow be cathartic. You see, as I was lying there on the pavement in the rain, I was afraid. I seriously thought I might be in real trouble. Then, and for a long time afterward, I questioned everything. I wanted to be with my children and I wanted to be anywhere else other than Liuzhou, China. I think maybe for the first time in my life I felt my mortality and I realized I wasn’t ready. Nope, not at all prepared. After waking up somewhere around 5:30 on the afternoon of April 16th, I lost myself for a while. For months afterward I wasn’t me. I couldn’t find pleasure in the everyday miracle of life. I didn’t want to talk to anybody and I certainly didn’t want to teach. I didn’t pick up my camera for months, got no exercise, ate whatever and whenever I wanted and overall was pretty much impossible to be around. I’d had a tough year physically. There was the heart attack, bouts with kidney stones and some other age related health issues had begun popping up. I’d battled on through it all, following doctor’s orders with a fair amount of success and then… the accident. It’s true what they say, it sucks getting old and let me tell you I was really giving it the “why me?” routine. I mean, I seriously could’ve given Job a run for his money.

Life is strange. We evolve. We change. We adapt. We repair. I struggle some days but a wholly full recovery looks likely. I still have some occasional vertigo and I’ll have to have the knee surgically repaired again but it certainly could have so much worse. So yeah, physically, emotionally and spiritually, I feel like I’m back on-course. That’s due in no short measure to my family and friends, who were patient and encouraging, generous with their prayers and at times, even harsh when they needed to be. If you offered up a prayer or sent me a note or sent positive vibes or made a phone call or spent even the briefest moment listening to me whine, I am grateful to you. While I am doing better, I’ll add that I would really, really, like to have a non-eventful summer health-wise.

So, now I’m in the midst of the summer break. I have a trip planned to photograph Inner Mongolia and a trip to Shenzhen and Hong Kong are in the works as well. I am looking forward to seeing old friends and meeting some people face to face for the first time. Hopefully, I’ll get back on track and loose some weight and lower my blood pressure and improve my health in general. I should have some new photos up here soon as well. I also hope to finally have the website re-developed and moved to my own domain within the next month or so. I’ll try and get back into a routine and touch base as often as I can.

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with what is admittedly a rather eclectic mix of images from February. Yeah. That’s how far behind I am with my processing.

Steamed

Steamed

Shortcut

Shortcut

Fie E' Lu

Fie ‘ E Lu

Paper Lanterns

Paper Lanterns

Girl In The Rain I

Girl In The Rain I

Until next time… this is a grateful me… saying thanks.

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on July 25, 2010.

41 Responses to “So there was this motorcycle….”

  1. You inspire me….

  2. Wow, Michael. I am glad you are feeling better and are back on track after a rough time. Look forward to seeing your images from your upcoming trips!

  3. Glad you’re back, Mike. You have much to be thankful for. God is good.

  4. I have missed you Michael!!!!! Glad to see God still has plans for you on this earth.

  5. Oh, Mike! I had no idea you were suffering so greatly. I can empathize with what you’ve been going through, though my causative circumstances were of a different nature. Like all the people who love you, I have been praying and hoping that you were on the mend. The sentiments expressed here are right. God isn’t finished with you yet.

    If it makes any difference, I think I have some insight into how God is working through you. You have opened my eyes and the eyes of many others into a world and culture that has been hidden and forbidden to us here in the western world. The beauty of your work is that you capture the innate sacredness of life in a different venue and context than we Westerners understand.

    God isn’t finished with you yet. And speaking for your friends and loved ones, neither are we.

    Love,
    Valary

  6. I’m so sorry to hear about your accident, but happy to know that you are recovering and pulling through. Happy to see you around again.

  7. Life tends to push us around and I guess we just have to push back. Every time that happens, we always get better.

  8. Wondered where you’d gone. So glad to hear you’re back on track. Be well, my friend. You have love, life, and many adventures ahead. Looking forward to your sharing them with us.

  9. Glad to hear from you and see some more photos. Hang in there. Lots of photos and great moments left. The lighting in 2nd shot quite amazing!

  10. You’re back!!! Missed your photos!

  11. Moving and emotional account, Michael. So sorry to hear the news (I was wondering what had happened) but really pleased that you’ve emerged from the darkness. There IS light ahead. Take care, my friend.

  12. Sorry to hear that happened, and glad that you are coming back to a better direction.

  13. Let’s see now …

    Getting back into shape physically and mentally …
    Back working on images ….
    Looking forward to seeing friends ….
    Planning trips ….

    Things look pretty OK for now!

    Cheers, and best of luck,

    trekker308 (Allan)

  14. Good to have you back 🙂

  15. I just wanted to say how amazingly strong you are to have pulled through what must have been a difficult ordeal, and emerge stronger and more determined than ever. Photography is one form of release, but it can do wonders for the physical and psychological state of mind. I can’t claim to say I understand what you went through, but have relatives who’ve experienced something close to what you did. They were strong too, but it was difficult. And for that, I wish you all the best and will keep sending you good thoughts.

  16. Oh Michael, I didn’t know about ANY of this and I am just so sorry.
    I’m also grateful that it wasn’t worse and happy to hear you are finding your way back (watch, you’ll be better for it, too).
    Wishing you continued strength and renewed mojo. xx

  17. I’m so surprised to hear about the accident! So sorry I didn’t keep up with your updates, and now that I’ve read the full detail, I realize that I really am a terrible contact.. I hope you’re all doing alright.

    I also had a really painful memory dated back to April 16. Well everyone has ups and downs but now that you’re back, it’s time for parades of beautiful images once again 🙂

    I wish you a nice holiday!

    • Aaaahhh man… I was so sad to read about Mimi just now. I’ve had to say goodbye to a few of my pups during my lifetime and it is just heart wrenching I know. One thing I am sure of, that old dog knew you loved her.

      You need to try and plan a trip to LZ this year… we have plenty of room and it would be fun to shoot together for a while. Later!

  18. Glad you are back! I missed your posts! I read your blog when i was pregnant, I read your posts when i was breastfeeding in the middle of the night. As my baby is growing (she is almost 6 months old now) I felt something was missing and it was your posts. I am so sorry about your accident. I hope you are better now. I am sure this event has make you stronger and appreciate life even more (although i love the way you capture it already in your pictures). Take good care of yourself and have faith!

    • Thanks Caroline, I’m glad I’m back too. 6 months already? Man, I am so far behind with everyone…. are there pics somewhere? HA! I’ll be rummaging through to find some later!

  19. Happy to hear you’re feeling better! Hope you’re 100% soon!

  20. Ha thanks 🙂 I will be back a week before school starts. If time fits and all, might make it to Liuzhou. Haven’t been anywhere out of Nanning for almost a year!

  21. This is a little late, but great to see you back on the horse (possibly quite literally with that pending trip to Inner Mongolia on the horizon)!

    Maybe there’s some truth to that whole “bad things come in threes” saying — here’s to hoping — still, do us all a favour and stay close to home if you see lightning.

Leave a Reply

 
