Night Walking – Photos From Liuzhou

I’ve actually been out two nights in a row with the camera. Well, more accurately I went our last night and then had the camera with me on the way home tonight. It’s been good to get back into the saddle. I’m not totally happy with what I’m getting just yet but I’m hoping that feel for the shot comes back soon enough.

Last night I took a walk down to the Liuzhou Government Headquarters Building. There is a huge public square in front of the building and on these hot, humid summer nights a lot of folks go out for a walk near the large fountain there to cool down. As I walked around, I discovered that in one corner of the square there were literally hundreds of people dancing. These old gals had arrived just ahead of me and were sizing up the potential dance partners.  Tough luck for the ladies, as they outnumberd the men about 10 to 1.

Dancing With The Stars - South China Style

Dancing With The Stars – South China Style

I decided to stick with the old birds for a while and followed them around the edge of the main “dance floor” until they found a little clear spot on the far side of the action. There weren’t any men over there either, so, undeterred, they began to dance with each other. Fact is, most of the couples were women anyway. Ms. Ping had to wait patiently for her turn, “Because”, as she told Lily, “I can’t lead.”

Wallfower

Wallflower

Ms. Ping got her turn with the lovely Ms. Wei. They tore it up to some Latin number before the rain came and put a damper on everything. I may go back another night and see if i can talk to some of the folks and find out a little more about the dancers.

Samba

Samba Baby

The City Government building isn’t exactly new anymore. It’s been here a couple of years now and has been a beacon for new construction in an area of town that was pretty much Nothingsville when I first came here four years ago. You can see yet another group of hi-rise apartments going up behind the building on the right.

Liuzhou City Government Building

Liuzhou Government Headquarters Building

On the way home, the rain stopped and I took a few shots of this hi-rise going up near the place where I live now. What with the mass migration to China’s cities and the newfound middle class’ desire to own their own home, the demand for housing is steep. Even at prices that are untouchable for most, new complexes are usually sold out even before they break ground. On some projects, crews work three shifts, 24 hours a day to keep up. The noise can be pretty obnoxious but I have been assimilated, I seem to barely notice it anymore.

Meeting Demand

Meeting Demand

I pretty much have a camera with me everywhere I go these days. I had quit doing that for a while but decided I was missing way too many shots. I’m glad I had one with me tonight. On the way back to the house I heard a ruckus and saw some lights so I stopped to take a look. I thought it may have been an argument or fight but I found these guys razzing two of their friends who were (poorly) playing 8 ball. They pretty much clammed up when I showed up but did warm up to me later.

Pool III

Pool III

I’m thinking this must be fairly common across China because I’ve seen so many weathered, outdoor pool tables. The felt and balls on this table were a mess but the cues, were straight and the tips, were surprisingly pristine. The sign on the bottom of the table says something like “No Children Allowed – Break The Rules And Face The Consequences!” That’s certainly a loose translation and it sounds pretty harsh but really, it just means “No Kids!”

Pool II

Pool II

By the time this game was over the guys were back to boisterously razzing their buddies.There were some small wagers, lots of cigarettes and some large bottles of cold beer. I got asked to play but couldn’t figure out what to do with my camera and backpack (laptop). I mean they were friendly and all, but I wasn’t about to just put the bag down on the ground. Easy pickins and way too tempting for one of these guys to grab and bolt. I am not as fast as I used to be, I’m built for distance. A short distance. I got out of there only having to drink one beer. It’s hot and humid here, so, they offered and it would have been rude not to have at least one. That’s my story.

Pool I

Pool I

So, that’s my last couple of evenings. What’s going on in your world? Until next time… Peace!

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on July 28, 2010.

8 Responses to “Night Walking – Photos From Liuzhou”

  1. Good to see you back Mike, very nice as usual… 😉

  2. I’m glad to see your photos again, my friend. Excellent, even if you have been “out of the saddle”. It’s good to see you back among the living.

  3. Mike, Looking forward to seeing more pics. I love the closeup night shots of all ages. I’m thinking what would be interesting… something that hasen’t been shown… hmm, I’ll have to get back to you on that one!

  4. Good to see you’re back.

    I have a question, with the photos of the pool guys did you use any flash? Or just used available light? It’s spot on and I love how they’re illuminated! 🙂 Real cool.

Leave a Reply

 
