Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant…

I’ve been helping a group of young engineers prepare for a 2 week trip to America. The are on there way to Detroit and Houston to learn the latest about air flow cooling systems and radiator design for heavy equipment. Yeah, that is some exciting stuff. Translating symbols and equations? I mean what’s not to like? Our time together came to an end last night and, as you do, we celebrated with a banquet. They were told they could go anywhere in town and chose this place. I knew it was going to be interesting when we had to walk through the kitchen to get to our table. Of course I pulled the camera out, figuring you don’t get too many chance like this to pull back the curtain.

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant - X

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant - V

The place was packed and, as is the norm, there were just about as many employees milling about as customers. China is labor intensive and it often looks like nobody is actually working. Over the years I’ve come to realize that’s because for every one person I may see sitting there are probably three others working!

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant - I

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant - VIII

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant - XII

By some estimates, almost 70% of the Chinese adult male population are smokers. That number may be off a bit. At times there were as many as 4 men smoking at our table during the meal. The employee break area was conveniently located stage left. Convenient for them. There were three laowai (foreigners) at our table and we were in the fishbowl. This guy was really giving me the stink eye but warmed up after I showed him this shot.

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant  - III

It wasn’t the best meal I’ve had in China but it wasn’t terrible either. The cuisine was local and I prefer dishes from the north of China. Still, on a hot and humid night, the beer was cold and the company was good.

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant - VIII

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant - IV

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant  - II

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant - VI

Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant - XI

The last shot is of Matata, making a wish before blowing out the candles on her birthday cake. She’s 25.

So, it’s raining here again. Today at mid-day I was wondering if I had somehow missed an eclipse warning it got so dark. Weird, in that it is still in the 90’s but raining. It’s like soup out there. I have to go out again tonight though, as speaking of birthdays, today is Lily’s. I am not allowed to tell you how old she is.

I might not update much for the new few days as I try (again) to get the website finished and moved. Maybe I’ll at least post some photos…

Until then, Peace!

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on July 31, 2010.

3 Responses to “Scenes From A Chinese Restaurant…”

  1. Wonderful, Miguel. You take the shots I wish I did.

  2. Those restaurant guys can be some of the most young…fun…interesting people you’ll ever meet. They work like dogs yet seem to be smiling more often than I see most Chinese people smile. Great work, Michael!

Leave a Reply

 
