Madonna with Child

Three young friends of mine, all of them expatriates living here in China, have recently had babies. I took this photograph a few nights ago in Guizhong Market. God bless the children…

Madonna and Child

For Steve and Mrs. Stevo…

For Ryan and Maggie…

For Oliver and Keiko

Congratulations. Cherish every moment because believe me they really do grow up too fast. Case in point, my first grandchild is due at any moment but I can remember so clearly when my kids were this size. I hope your children make each of  you as proud as my kids have made me.

I may be less active here for a while as I continue to work on getting the website put together. I am struggling mightily but have decided I’m not going to give up on it this time. Maybe I’ll find some time to post some photos to break up the monotony… Peace!

UPDATE:  In the original post I mistakenly said all three couples had boys. Actually, Steve and his wife are the proud parents of young Reilly Elizabeth, who as you can clearly see here is a beautiful baby girl! I will be avoiding the glare of Ms. Stevo when I head south later this month.

It’s nice to know you’re actually reading this stuff Steve!

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on August 5, 2010.

8 Responses to “Madonna with Child”

  1. Ooh Madonna. . .

    Hello. . . I’m indonesian. . . .

  2. Another beautiful picture Mike.

  3. Great shot, as always and thanks for the well-wishes. It’s funny as I always thought it was a bit of a cliche when people told me to enjoy every moment as they grow up so fast — but it’s really the best advice any parent can give new parents. These last three months have passed in a blink, and I’m sure I’ll be saying the same thing when he starts walking, and talking, and pooping in porcelain. Having reminders to stop for a moment and take it all in is so important, and yet so easy to forget between diaper changes, bath times, spit up and just the general chaos of doing all this for the first time.

    Congratz to Steve and Oliver (and their partners) too!

  4. Thanks, Michael. My son is actually a daughter but the name Reilly is deceiving. 🙂

  5. Wow! That’s a wonderful picture!

Leave a comment