10 Minutes – Lei Tang Miao

I went to Long Tang Park today to finally take a full walk around the place. I’ve been to the park quite a few times but it’s always been during some special event or on a holiday so it was nice to not have to fight through the crowds. More on the park soon, but today I’m posting a few photos from Lei Tang Miao, a small Buddhist Temple located on the park grounds. On the whole, the temple was a bit of a bust. As I said, small, not well maintained and the attendants were a bit too pushy for my taste what with the “Buy this incense for good luck and buy this bamboo stick for good health.” I was discouraged (asked not to) from taking photos of the inside hall, so that left very little for me to shoot.  This is what I manged in catch in 10 minutes or so….

10 Minutes - Lei Tang Miao I

10 Minutes - Lei Tang Miao II

10 Minutes - Lei Tang Miao III

10 Minutes - Lei Tang Miao IV

10 Minutes - Lei Tang Miao V

All of these shots were all taken with the Canon 5D Mark II and the EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L lens. The light was harsh is some spots and almost non-existent in others so the settings were all over the place. More images from the park tomorrow…

I am awaiting official word on baby Layla, AKA grandchild number one. The kids went to the hospital about 20 hours ago but I haven’t heard anything since… “Layla, darling won’t you ease my worried mind…”

Positive waves toward California folks…

Peace!

Bookmark and Share

~ by Expatriate Games on August 12, 2010.

23 Responses to “10 Minutes – Lei Tang Miao”

  1. Great job capturing the smoke, I’m afraid I don’t have nearly your ability. I just did a post on a temple, and your post has made me wish I had a bit more skill with a camera.

  2. Best of luck to the “kids” and the arrival of your grandchild. Our recent delivery experience was 23 hours long, I’m sure you’ll hear from them soon.

    If you make it to HK I know a great little temple, very photogenic. No one there seems to care if you take photos. 🙂

    • Is that Man Mo? I went there once but had the wrong lens for the job so I’d definitely like to go back! If it’s a different place that’s cool too. I know why I’m awake at 4:39 in the AM and I suspect your being awake has something to do with Reilly?!

  3. Don’t know how you do it, even with ample light you get your pictures nice and sharp.

    Hoping for an easy delivery and a healthy grandchild!

  4. Have you been to XiLai Temple on the riverside. They leave you alone there and have no objections to photographs. It’s also small, but better maintained and attractive.

    • I have Ken and yeah it’s much more photg friendly and comfortable. I’m actually thinking about going back this week or next, I’ve learned a few tricks since last time I was there 3 years ago. You up for dropping back in there?

  5. Hey, nice work. Love the way you captured the incense. especially the shot from below.

    Where are you in China actually?

  6. Such glorious photographs, and the colors are amazing!! Congrats on the Canon 5D – the 2 of you make a perfect pair. Love your blog, and I’m happy that you’re up and around again. Peace.

  7. I love those dragons!

Leave a comment